The two teams: a depleted Glenorchy on the left and Hobart.

The two teams: a depleted Glenorchy on the left and Hobart.

GYC Blue (Glenorchy) vs GYC Red(Hobart) cricket 

Second title to Hobart in 3 years


Umpire Peter Taylor (centre) and captains Joe Turmine (Glenorchy, left) and Josh Pride at the coin toss.

Umpire Peter Taylor (centre) and captains Joe Turmine (Glenorchy, left) and Josh Pride at the coin toss.

After a season involving washouts, an extra team entering the competition and forfeits, there was much uncertainty who would actually make the final. The news filtered through early in the week that it was to be a repeat of 2016; the SATIS Boy’s Cricket grand final would be a clash between the two GYC teams.  The Hobart team justified its warm favouritism by winning comfortably to take its second title in three years.

The pre-match nerves were evident when Glenorchy won the toss and initially elected to bat. After further deliberation (and some dubious opposition tactics) it was finally decided that the Hobart team would be first to face the music – literally. A sound system had been provided to entertain the masses. Early on, the scorer was highly critical of the DJ’s music choice. After some encouragement, the music improved markedly.

Anyway, back to the match.

Recent 13th man for Australia, Keegan Oates, and fellow opener Zachary Adams strode out to the middle with a look of confidence. The first two overs saw some streaky shots as the pair were looking to dominate early. In Isaac Manson’s 2nd over Keegan hit two massive sixes off consecutive deliveries and things were looking ominous. Isaac struck back two balls later to have Zach Adams caught in the deep.

Calvin Coles joined Oates and contributed 23 runs off 16 balls in a rapid 50-run partnership that saw the city boys race to 1-89 in just the 7th over.

However, Aayush Bagga had Coles caught at mid-wicket by Joe Turmine and this started a string of regular wickets. Keegan was one of those dismissed after making a sparkling 54 off 23 balls.

A dangerous partnership loomed between Jed Steele and Luke Swinton and Hobart had steadied to 5 for 142 until Louis Meeres chipped in with a wicket. The Glenorchy captain, Joe Turmine, was dominant in the field taking three crucial catches. The burgeoning crowd was anticipating the skipper would roll his arm over to tighten the screws on the run-rate.

Instead, the inspirational captain threw the leather to Hayden Goldsmith whose unique slower balls had the opposition in a spin. Hayden picked up two quick wickets including a sharp catch off his own bowling. After picking up another unexpected catch in the outfield, there were concerns in the pavilion that Hayden would put his shoulder out given how hard he threw the ball into the air in celebration!

Wickets to Ben McRoss, Isaac Manton and Chris Kahatapitikankanamalage restricted GYC Red to 198. They were bowled out in the 20th over.

Although this was a big total, it was lower than the Glenorchy boys thought they might be chasing half way through the innings.

The task of scoring 10 runs per over would prove more difficult without their highest run-scorer for the season, Andrew Bourke, who was committed to a tennis tournament. The run chase was about to begin … could the Glenorchy team cause a massive boil-over?

Well, no! The run chase was significantly dented by two early run-outs caused by the chase for quick runs.

The Hobart bowlers were clinical in their display and victory was never in doubt. Despite a brave 24 off 17 balls from Chris K., the bowling team was always in control. Wickets to Joshua Pride, Lewis Edwards (his first wicket!) and Patrick Kelly almost sealed the deal.

Calvin Coles was introduced into the attack with the dangerous Isaac Manson running out of partners. Coles produced two sensational deliveries to claim two wickets off just three balls, giving Hobart a memorable victory.

The College Director of Sport, ZainWright presented the trophy to Josh Pride with an unbiased synopsis of an interesting season. There were thanks given to Blair Brownless and Peter Taylor for their coaching and umpiring, to John Covington for his scoring and legendary reporting and to Penny Edman for her photography and media support.

Well done, Hobart, but be warned … Glenorchy are already planning strategies for revenge in 2019!

Hobart captain Josh Pride with Hobart coach Blair Brownless and the shield

Hobart captain Josh Pride with Hobart coach Blair Brownless and the shield

GYC Red (198 off 19.1 overs) d GYC Blue (64 off 9.3 overs)

Keegan Oates 54 (23 balls), Jed Steele 24 (14), Calvin Coles 23 (16), Patrick Kelly 20 (16)

Hayden Goldsmith 2-16 (2 overs), Aayush Bagga 2-24 (2), Ben McRoss 2-25 (3.1), Isaac Manton 2-42 (4)


Chris Kahat. 24 (17 balls), Isaac Manson 12 (7), Joe Turmine 12 (11)

Calvin Coles 2-0 (0.3 overs), Patrick Kelly 1-3 (1), Joshua Pride 1-13 (2), Lewis Edwards 1-16 (2)