There is an unusual tension on the Hobart Campus of Guilford Young College this week.


Currently at Guilford Young College there are large numbers of students participating in a wide range of sporting platforms. AFL has been particularly popular and this will be showcased on Sunday 10 September at the home of footy, North Hobart Oval.

At 3pm, 24 AFL players from the College will be among those to contest the Under-18 Southern Tasmanian Junior Football League premiership for 2017.

All but two of the 24 players for either the Clarence Roos Football Club or the Kingborough Tigers Football Club are students based at the Hobart Campus. The other two are at the Glenorchy Campus. Most of the students are in Year 11.

Tensions have been building all week on the Hobart Campus and the stage is set for what should be a ripping game of football.

During the season both teams have performed strongly, playing great football.

Kingborough finished on top of the ladder, losing only one game for the season.  However, the Clarence players have been biting at Kingborough’s ankles all season and managed to knock them over in round 17 in a tight contest.

The teams’ most recent encounter was in the first week of finals. In what was a heated contest, the Tigers prevailed with a 22-point win.

It should be noted that Clarence is coming off the back of yet another tight contest against North Hobart on Friday night, in which the Roos ran over the top of the Dees in the last quarter to win by nine points.

After coming off a tight game can the Roos players back it up this weekend or will the Tigers players continue their strong form and take out the flag?

It is rare to see so many students from one college participate in the one competition, let alone to end the competition, fighting to win the grand final. Ultimately, a number of GYC ALF players will be the 2017 U/18 STJFL premiership winners.

Team members from Guilford Young College

Kingborough Tigers: Josh Pride, Will Poland, Lachlan Ayliffe, Jacob Banks, Patrick Kelly, Harry Burrows, Edwin Pretyman, Lucas Griggs (captain), Harry Bomford, James Cane.

Clarence Roos: Luke Swinton, Harry Burgess, Tomi Hapka, Alex Bresnehan, Jacob Kent, Thomas Steele, James Bealey, Joe Colrain, Josh Nus (Glenorchy), Zac Lewin, Brady Hayden (Glenorchy), Jacob Smith, Angus Reilly, Jackson Adams.

It has also been noted that  Hospitality teacher Mr Stephen Lunn will exchange his kitchen whites for the uniform of the Lindisfarne Giants when they take on Kingston in the “super rules” (over 35) footy final at  KGV Oval at 3pm on Saturday 9 September.